Field of Play

A body’s gravitational field
Must change
On days with shaving nicks
And licks from the wrong ice cream cone
Don’t rob banks
Out of state
People are pulled in
As I pass the Goodwill bins
Bumping
Or nearly
Off shoulders
And breastplates
From out of date
Soup cans
She’s my supergiant star
A pull greater than
Our sun
Needier than
The world’s underfed
I decrease with every
Revolution
Of her body ’round mine
Her hydrogen fuses quickly
Deep within
And I’m lighter than
Air

________~>

Thursday Poets Rally Week 39

I nominate Gwenyth. Her blog is truly fresh and honest. Good poetry and relevant musings.

24 thoughts on “Field of Play

  1. Wow. Such strong love can’t be broken. At least, not by human means.
    Thank you for sharing another piece of your art with the world. I’m so glad I found your blog.
    ~~Aynsley

  2. I love this piece and I love your blog. And the nomination is extremely flattering, if undeserved. Thank you so much.

    1. Thanks again! You and your blog deserve more attention, so I hope the nomination leads to that. I especially like your post from Sunday, about your visit to a baby shower. I think it struck me because it’s such a contrasting view to most of the attitudes I’ve seen expressed. And even though I didn’t fully agree or understand, that didn’t seem to matter, because your expression of the event, your feelings, and your own change became more important than my own attitudes and walls. What you went through felt so honest. Thanks.

    1. Thank you, but the character doesn’t rise above it on his own; he is “risen” above it all by another. Key difference, I think. I appreciate your comment.

  3. Very nice poem, very unique, yet it flows and embraces our minds; it’s amazing the improvement and changes I’ve seen in your work over the years, keep up the great effort … we look forward to seeing more.

  4. Greetings:

    Hope all is well.

    Noting that you have been part of poets rally in the year of 2011,
    what an achievement, thanks for your outstanding contribution to us
    along the way, keep up the excellence. Best!

    Come join our poetry rally today if you wish to mingle and get inspired!

    A poem of your choice or a free verse is accepted.

    Merry Christmas and Happy New Year.

    Looking forward to seeing you share.
    Respect and hugs.
    xoxox

Speak your Mystery

