Memorial (The Estrangement)

collecting the remnants
of a long abandoned life
to solitude, delusion, and paranoia
will I find rolls of cash
or semiautomatic weapons
hidden in your secret spaces?

left with the enigma of
a conscientious objector
who employed CIA tactics
on an unusually aware child –
I always made you nervous

you never gave anything
without cryptic lies
handfuls of liquid mercury
tumbling through my upturned palms
poisoning me in time

you wielded insight like a hammer –
without blunt force trauma
you said, it can’t be Truth
I cradle my disfigured head
victim of the banality of evil
a vestigial reflex of love

43 thoughts on “Memorial (The Estrangement)

  1. oh my…this made my heart bleed…semiautomated weapons and handfuls of liquid mercury tumbling through upturned palms, poisoning…CIA tactics…ugh…sad and heart-wrenching write anna..

  2. Wow, that last stanza is a strong one. “Yielding insight like a hammer without blunt force trauma” is one terrific simile. A very fine write all around.

    1. My gawd, woman! If I had a dollar for every goose bump you raised on my arm, we’d have no problem changing the world. Fierce, absolutely brutal, but in my mind, there’s no denying the strength that was born out of the chaos, and it shines through blindingly in the close. Jaw dropping for me…no joke!

  3. will I find rolls of cash
    or semiautomatic weapons
    hidden in your secret spaces?

    This sounds like some mercenaries bidding their time Anna! Just curious! Nice write!

    Hank

  4. It is very sinister, it unnerves me just reading this poem, particularly this stanza and what it reveals…

    you never gave anything
    without cryptic lies
    handfuls of liquid mercury
    tumbling through my upturned palms
    poisoning me in time

    a courageous write…

  5. Crap ! I don’t know anyone whose father was like that. Or maybe they never speak about it. Amazing how a mind can survive very twisted parents. It makes me wonder about how my children will perceive me. Will they think CIA, mercury, cryptic lies, poisoning ….
    I pray not.

  6. When I start cleaning house, I sometimes wonder what would be discovered about me after I pass. Your word choices are wonderful, giving a sense of both the person and thoughts. I’m glad I experienced this poem.

  7. i know
    we shouldnt have favourites
    but this is
    eye catchingly
    excellent

    (imfuo!;)

    V cool lines plus

    or semiautomatic weapons
    hidden in your secret spaces?

    left with the enigma of
    a conscientious objector
    who employed CIA tactics

    much enjoy! 😀

Speak your Mystery

