I wish I had sung

I wish I had sung to you
love.
I wish
when your head rested between my bare breasts
and your tears graced my skin
that I had been brave enough to sing
you something sad and beautiful 
that would have told you a story of healing. 
I wish a melody could have told you 
things that can’t be written. 
Maybe a low humming 
would have done the trick
just flowing enough that your ear 
would catch the resonance 
from my thoracic cavity 
and keep you 
warm. 
I wish I had sung.
One thought on “I wish I had sung

Speak your Mystery

