A poem’s home

I want to hold you
Like rain loves the eaves of cathedrals
I want to inflame your heart
Like grass loves lightning
I want to kiss you
Like wine kisses porcelain
And if “I love you”
Is expressed in Superman pajamas
And dusty symbols of yearning
Finding new places in your cabinets
Then I have done my job.
Our love poems start like this:
I am whole
Yet there are spaces
Fill them with your aching
A negative times a negative
Equals a positive
And our aches negate each other
Then the newest ache
When my fingers must temporarily untangle
From yours
Is an ache that is blessed
Homesickness only happens
When you have a home
And my aching for you must mean
That my heart’s home
Is inside yours

Speak your Mystery

