Autopsy

The needle passes through you

Thread-less and hot like a cautery

Under the right lightning conditions

Your blackened heart would burn

Like the night sky, the asymmetry

Of your scars, constellations heroically

Wept, a conscientious decision to excise

Despite the consequence or expense

=

I have held your wreckage ungloved in

The palm of my hand, and I have washed

You naked in my words as if they could

Anesthetize, my hand-written notes,

Origami folding across your spine, paper

Wings to guide your migration home

=

I have watched you peeling the screams from

Your throat, fist through glass pressed, head

Hanging by the jugular, unalterable, irreparable,

Defiant in the face of my best intentions

=

In these spaces where you have died, in

These graves that I have carefully laid, so

That you would  never have to sleep alone

I would carry you home in pieces, no cell

Left unatoned from the nightmares closing

Vulturine around your wasting soul

=

A fiber at a time untangling the madness that

Became you, a portrait at a time recovering your

Mouth taunt as a guitar string, to reshape your

Smile as I have known it recessed in tracks of

Mud, if only I could draw the breath from your

Prolapsed lungs withholding, if only I could

Rewire every synapse that ever betrayed you

=

Sloppy maybe, I’m really am trying to dig deep inside

3 thoughts on “Autopsy

  1. Really good deep-diggin’ bits here: Anesthetize, my hand-written notes,

    Origami folding across your spine, paper

    Wings to guide your migration home

    Thank you, again, for contributing such awesome and personal(?) poems. My only “helpful” suggestion is to strip it down to the essential words that tap directly to the idea’s nerves. Prune it like a fruit tree to increase the fruitfulness.

Speak your Mystery

