For All That It’s Worth

Your smile like a wire slices through me

The surface of my heart, a half moon

Transposed. I am tinsel, a fragile holiday

Slipping quickly. The light through darkness

Siphoned comes in ribbons of wreckage

Spread thickly. My tongue anchors and if mute

Will you still hear the pulse echoing in my tin

Veins and I never deserved the breath that

In your presence abandons, I come in pieces

With dirty hands and karmic baggage, I come

As I am, prostrated in accordance with a greater

Will, love is cruel she suffers no coherence,

Forgive my syntax your presence stutters, if I

Open my mouth I will drown, forgive me these

Covetous silences, I have never felt anything that

Compares to your eyes unlocking my bones. If I

Shiver it is because I have never felt the sun inside

My wintering soul. You have never made me feel

Alone and if I follow you does that mean that I am

Obsessed of what use to a Goddess does a mortal

Possess? And you have never made me feel as if I

Were nothing no matter the fathoms breached,

To destroy myself I would have done anything

Except die, fear holds my wrists, and if not for you

I would resolve to apathy, if not for you I would

Have never seen the stars for all that they’re worth

13 thoughts on “For All That It’s Worth

  1. There is nothing amiss with a little romance, in fact the romantic eye beholds its presence in all things. In a sunset, sun-shower, a child’s laughter and tears. Everywhere one looks, romance abounds.

  2. that’s the way love should be…every word..very line…is beautiful

    but this line “I have never felt anything that Compares to your eyes unlocking my bones”.
    is breath taking…

Speak your Mystery

