Immortal

I resent you

For being bigger than us

For leaving me behind

I, who have stood

With my heart unhinged

That you might

Lay your soul

When in need of rest

*

We met in the catacombs

Amongst a brethren dead

Morbid in our sickness

No judgment rendered

Despite stunning faults

*

I never meant

That this embrace

Should tether

That my doubts

Should bar

Your passage out

I never meant

That I should be

Your greatest weakness

But here I am

Unable to do without

*

I watched you decompose

Same as I

I watched you fester

Deep inside

Stripped the suicide

From your lungs

I would never let you die

*

I believed

Fueling your veins

With my blood

I believed

Resurrecting your hopes

From the ether

That together we were

A force of good

*

I resent my impotence

That I kept excavating

From between fractured ribs

Until there was nothing

Left for me to become

*

I love you most of all

More than words

Which are everything

In this final hour

Betrayed by my very purpose

I can only ineptly say

Stay and render us immortal

There is no one else who fits

Not for you or I

I know that we are meant

Despite the obstacles

We can overcome

One thought on “Immortal

Speak your Mystery

