Fire alarm prayers

I don’t even recognize that sound anymore
I don’t even recognize that moment when your 15-year-old brother
is the snow fall.
My stained shirt says
I swear I’m pretty
even when they have you
I don’t even get tired
Now I guess
you’re on people’s doorsteps,
coming back and giggling
to take Machiavelli out
of the weekend
and settle in with blessing
Fire alarms begging to be grateful
for their lonely hospitality
Fire alarms begging to be not such an April Fool’s joke
The key to happiness may be
Utterances of obscenity
Ironic and loving
despite brazen phrasing
Made of me.

Speak your Mystery

