Wrap me up

I’ve ground my heart into mortar

That these battlements would hold

I want to be alone” is a mantra

Held fitfully between loose teeth

One could spend their entire life

Gnawing at the hominal clicks

Of a brass-coated tongue

And never hit a single note

*

We’re simply not made

For silence, for exile

I am the unsiphoned void

The potential for love

Is imminent but underpaid

Will you wrap me

As a wound

As a gift

As a lifetime

Lovingly spent

*

My veins are too heavy

To accommodate spades

Let the rogue at arm’s distance stay

Let the prince ride on

For white horses get dirty fast

Give me the artisan

The honest man with callused hands

And a smile that bridges

Earth and empyrean

 

11 thoughts on “Wrap me up

  1. Amazing! One of my new favourites from you! Best part for me was:”Let the prince ride on

    For white horses get dirty fast

    Give me the artisan

    The honest man with callused hands

    And a smile that bridges

    Earth and empyrean “

Speak your Mystery

