A Slice of Infinity

The other night,
I saw a saffron moon,
Horizon low in the sky.
Nestled between two,
Parallel shelves of cloud.
Optically tinted,
And augmented.
There it hung,
Glowing softly,
Like a great celestial,
Yellow lantern.
I had to ignore,
The almost physical need,
Like a lump of urgency,
In my chest,
Compelling me,
To photograph it.
But the sublime,
Cannot be captured,
Nor confined.
So I chose instead,
To savor that moment,
Like a slice,
Of yellow moon cake.
So delicious.
And yet so fleeting.
One tiny piece,
Is all I got.
But I’ll remember,
The taste of it forever.

5 thoughts on “A Slice of Infinity

  1. I really like your poem, the imagination comes out in a very vivid way. Great comparisons as well.
    I would love to feature this poem in my Poetry Corner I host once a week. i will reblogged it on my blog. Nice work.

    1. Thank you! I wrote a much longer comment on your blog, giving a brief explanation for what inspired the poem. I and very honored and touched that you enjoyed it so much. You definitely get it. 🙂

  2. Reblogged this on kgbethlehem and commented:
    Greetings again everyone.

    On a more lighter note (heart still goes out to my home town of St. Louis, MO), it is time for another Friday Night Poetry Corner #39; THE SATURDAY EDITION.

    Yeah, I know, i’m a late.

    This nice work of poetry called “A Slice of Infinity” from the Carbon Noise Poetry*** blog is a wonderful vivid poem of a voice at a door of something. You my fellow poets, artists, writers, etc.. be the judge of this work, the surreal turns to something you must read for yourself..

    Thanks again for visiting and visit the Carbon Noise Poetry Blog from time to time..

Speak your Mystery

